Offloading SSD I/O Traffic by Creating Symbolinks

I’ve upgrade my 3.5 yo laptop to SSD for a month. I tossed away the CD-ROM and installed the HDD drive with a caddy. BOOM!! The performance is absolutely fantastic. And I can still keep all the things around in HDD drive.

And I hear lots of stories that SSD has its lifespan. The more you write on it, the shorter its life.

I’m on Windows 8 and I found most of the things on this post useful.

The one I like the most is mklink. It’s super useful. I used it occasionally whenever I want to share some resource across different projects. But anyway, the command is very easy. Let’s take Chrome as example. As we know, Chrome is greedy on cache – tons of writes – and I browse internet more than I breath. All right, that’s a bit exaggerating, but you get the point. So I decided to move it.

mklink "C:\Users\Mike\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\" "D:\Users\Mike\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\" /D

It’s pretty simple and handy. I did the same to Windows Search Indexes and a bunch of other folders.

Leave a Reply

